Taking Flight: thegoodnewsgirl in Atlanta Part I.

It is my last night here in Atlanta. The hotel room is quiet, aside from the light drizzle against the window; all is packed and ready to go in the morning. It is amazing what can happen in three days. The people you meet in a strange places, like characters in a book each popping in for only a few moments, giving you the opportunity to be more than just a passing character in their own novel.

My journey began early Thursday morning as I set out to Hotlanta to hear Dave Ramsey speak as part of my continued education in the workplace. My stomach was turning a bit at the thought of flying, which is not the norm for me. I have flown more times than I can count with ease and usually a bit of excitement. My last experience flying, however, was terrifying – if you have ever flown through a winter storm on one of the smallest planes you can imagine, you know what I mean. Luckily, my plane came with the best fight attendant I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

Her name was Morgan. Once I saw that I was boarding a small propeller plane, I immediately reverted back to my previous flying experience, and began to imagine all the different ways I could possibly survive if the plane crashed – dramatic, I know. When I pulled Morgan aside and asked her if we would be flying through any bad weather, she knew exactly what was going on.

She smiled, and let me know that we would have clear skies all the way to Atlanta, and she didn’t say this in that annoying, professional, robotic way, but in that very warm way that didn’t make you feel so silly for having a perfectly normal human emotion.

As the flight continued, Morgan stayed in the back with me most of the time – pouring me water, giving me trashy celebrity magazines to make fun of, and telling me why propeller planes were actually safer than other planes. Every time we hit any little bump in the sky, she reassured me that everything was okay. We talked about our lives a little bit, and what it’s like to move around so much as a flight attendant. She also told me a bit about the pilots to help calm my nerves.

After landing safely, I said goodbye to Morgan and thanked her for being so kind to me. It is so rare to find people who are intuitive enough to really understand what a complete stranger is going through in a moment of fear or weakness. It is even harder to find someone who is patient enough and good enough to see you through that moment, to kind of walk beside you, reassuring you that you will make it to the other side.

This was just the beginning of my experiences and meetings while in Atlanta. I will also give a full review of the Dave Ramsey events, as well as pass on some of his wonderful advice. Stay tuned for Part II of Taking Flight.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Share your thoughts ...

